Tuesday, August 10, 2010

N-1-1 Numbers for Accessing Special Services

N-1-1 codes are three digit phone numbers that are abbreviated for the purpose of quickly accessing special services within the US and Canada. These numbers does not start with 0 or 1. The first digit of these numbers usually starts from 2 to 9 and the last two digits are both 1’s. N-1-1 numbers can be used as a prefix for premium rate numbers (900) and toll free service numbers (800, 855, 866, 877 and 888) but are prohibited from being used as local area code for local numbers.

The N-1-1 convention results in 8 number possibilities:

Use for accessing community information, social and referral services which may cover the following: child care, counseling, credit request, donation, education, elderly programs, evacuation, financial assistance, health, homeless assistance, non-crisis, parenting, relief, volunteers and youth programs.

Mainly used for calling non-emergency government, municipal or police service or assistance. This N11 code is implemented for local level access wherein some cities may use it for other services. Some carrier services, like the AT&T UVerse, prevent subscribers from calling this number.

The directory assistance number which provides information like address or phone numbers requested by the caller.

The telephone hotline used for accessing information, news or conditions about traffic or transportation. It is also used by travelers as a travel guide or non-emergency assistance for police services.

A general customer service number intended to be used for reporting landline or wireless service problems.

Is a TRS (Telephone Relay Service), for the deaf, which convert a TDD (Telecommunication Device for the Deaf) signal to speech or vice-versa.

A “call before you dig” public utility service that provide digging or excavation services.

Used for calling emergency services such as police, fire or medical.

No comments:

Post a Comment